Why Doesn’t MTV Play Music Anymore?

Read this blog first: Why Doesn’t MTV Play Music Anymore?

I was born in ’86 and MTV wasn’t that good even when I was a kid, so it wasn’t a huge surprise to me when the music practically disappeared in favor of reality TV shows that are about as real as pink flying elephants. The fact that I, and many people I know, are still angry about the cancellation of “Daria” says a lot about this channel, or possibly our inability to let go of one of the coolest animated women, ever.

While I do agree that my generation has created the file sharing fad, the reality is that we are the ones who were addicted to television as kids. Everything from Saturday morning cartoons like Transformers, The Amazing Spiderman, Batman Beyond, Justice League, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, X-Men, and so on, to all of those great shows that we just don’t see anymore on Nickelodeon. We grew up watching television when we were bored, and that included MTV. My friends and I, we were pretty upset when the things about the channel that we did like, disappeared forever. What’s interesting about this too is that most of my friends are a few years younger than me.

The other reality is that I did not find much music through MTV, other than Linkin Park. I don’t know why I remember the premiere of their music video for In The End so clearly, but I do. I even remember when Carson Daly was dumb enough to assume Dave was a brand new member of the band and everybody jumped on Carson’s ass for it like he had violated some sacred law. It’s always fun to remember why we never liked Carson Daly. What’s really sad is as much as we dislike him, we were mad when he left TRL. I always say that my generation is the group of people who gain satisfaction from laughing at people who are idiots.

While I do miss the good old days, they did not expose me to the kind of music that I love to listen to today. My favorite band is 2NE1. I never would have found this band without youtube. A friend of mine did a vocal cover of a song by a band called Super Junior. This got me very interested in them obviously, which eventually led me to other Korean musicians. I wouldn’t say I love K-Pop but after enough looking, I eventually came across G-Dragon’s solo album, and one song he did with Teddy of 1TYM, and CL of 2NE1. I remember being especially into how G-Dragon and Teddy sounded all right and CL spit her rhymes like nobody’s business. I have loved this band since their first mini-album came out in 2009, long before Gangnam Style showed up. Nowadays I am a fan of groups like Big Bang, T-Ara, Brown Eyed Girls, Chocolat, Shinhwa, Super Junior and more. I am especially fond of Yoon Mirae T (Tasha Reid). She is likely the biggest hip hop artist in South Korea right now.

Here is what I still don’t understand: Why is it that in the current fad of file sharing and iTunes, and so many people listening to playlists on their phones or iPods, radio stations that play endless hours of music still exist? And it’s usually the most poppy and boring mainstream music you can ever hear. All I ever hear about is people’s complaints of how radio stations play crappy music. But these stations are still out there and going strong. KROQ is pretty interesting but stations in my area suck severely and they are still around. I don’t get it, do you?

Seriously, MTV, casettes, and CD’s all died but radio stations live on.

There are no comments on this post.

Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

