Creationism vs. Evolution

Before I begin I just want to note that we who believe in evolution, don’t need to put some stupid, grammatically incorrect “-ism” at the end of a word just to make it seem like it’s more believable than it actually is. Moving on.

For one of my college courses for this Fall semester I am required to complete 40 hours of fieldwork at a NAEYC accredited pre-school or pre-k and kindergarten class. Today I got into an almost heated debate with one of the teachers about creationism vs. evolution. Now, I have no problem having a discussion with kids present about various topics, because kids are smarter than some people realize, and there is more to the world than their house and their classroom. One thing I could talk about for hours, is psychology.

The kids weren’t present when we were discussing schizophrenia. However, we did start talking about the manifestation. Believe it or not, pre-schoolers can exhibit manifestations of schizophrenia, so the topic relates to our work. Unfortunately, this teacher tried to argue with me about genetics. That apparently the only way a person gets schizophrenia is if one or both of the parents are schizophrenic themselves. While the likelihood is higher, as I told her, there is also the possibility of a parent, or both parents, carrying a recessive gene that they pass on to their kids. Schizophrenia behaves like a pre-disposition. It is brought on by trauma or a “life-changing” event. She cooled down after that, for a few minutes, at least.

Well, we got onto the subject of the nature of people as a society. By this time, one of the children, who’s family is from Nigeria, had entered the classroom. He is a very, very well spoken, opinionated and sharp child. I eventually mentioned to a make a point that we as humans originated in Africa, in a world made of nature, not technology. We were not originally designed for this, and thus, the way the world works can scramble our brains. Things like bipolar disorder or schizophrenia which have been present for so long, likely did not manifest as strongly, because of less of an advanced society.

This teacher’s reaction to this was to laugh at me, tell me that it was ridiculous that we could originate from a place like Africa. I explained to her that Africa is in all of us, and she believed I was crazy and made the point that there is no way she could be African.

She said that in front of a child who’s family came from Africa. In front of a teacher, who’s family came from Africa.

This little boy, turned to her, looked her up and down, with an expression that practically screamed, “What are you, new?” This teacher ignored him and went into a lecture about creationism. I mostly blocked her out.

The concept of this classroom is Diversified Creative Curriculum. Diversity is culture, origin, ethnicity, learning styles, physical disabilities, illnesses, languages, personalities, and more. Diversity is the human race.

I asked the boy what he thought about all of this. Whether or not he believed in creationism, evolution or both. I respect his intelligence and I know this is something he is capable of understanding. Every time he tried to answer me, this teacher would try to talk over him.

I kept telling her to let him answer, but she wouldn’t do it. Finally I said, “One of the great things about diversity is that we have different beliefs from all over the world. We celebrate those things.” She mildly agreed with me, then continued her creationism lecture. She started to get pretty nasty too, about how if the world ends, then everyone will realize that we are all created and not evolved and that we will all pray and have eternal life.

I didn’t respond to that at all. Neither did the boy. Instead, I said to him, “What language do you speak at home?” He answered that he speaks Yoruba. I asked if he knew other languages like Igbo and he said he didn’t, but wanted to learn. We discussed his name, the name of his sister and parents. I can’t give names for confidentiality reasons, but his name means Prince, his sister’s means Princess, and his mother and father’s names mean King and Queen. What a rarity, that two people would fall in love, that happen to have names with that meaning.

We talked about my last name, Nofi, and how it is a Nigerian name. We talked about the Yoruba people. We talked about different kinds of people from around the world.

The teacher didn’t say anything else. She avoided me the rest of the day. I think you can guess why.

This is why we don’t teach creationism in schools. The people who believe in it, sometimes also hate an entire group of people or think little of them.

This teacher, by the way, is Hispanic, and she spends all of her time with the Hispanic kids, only.

There are no comments on this post.

Share Your Thoughts

