I Don’t Understand the Fascination with Smart Phones.

Maybe it’s just me, but I really don’t understand why people are fascinated by their smart phones.

I went into the Apple store in my area a while back just to look around, and while checking out an iPhone, I could not figure out how to put in a phone number. This was a long time ago, but the salesperson ended up showing me a very complicated way to get to putting in someone’s number to make a call. To me, a cell phone should be a cell phone, and do what it was originally meant to do, make a call. How am I supposed to call 911 in an emergency, if it is that complicated to do so? This was over a year ago, mind you, but it is the reason why I’ve never touched a “smart” phone again.

I’m a fairly social person on the internet, but not in every day life. I don’t like talking to people on phones, or talking to the general public. And I’m not the first person to say this but, it really bugs me that people sit around staring at their phones, rather than looking at each other. Unlike folks who have an easier time talking to and getting along with people, it’s something that is very hard for me, so I don’t take it for granted. I might not strike up a conversation with everybody but I like seeing the diverse faces around me.

I’m on the city bus for about 4 hours every day, 5 days a week. And I see so many people with these smart phones. I’m not a nosy person, but it’s hard not to notice the people sitting beside me who are doing one of the following things: Texting, playing candy crush or angry birds, listening to music, or visiting a social media site. I don’t see the justification of spending hundreds of dollars on a cell phone that you use to play candy crush. I especially don’t see that justification when you get on the bus with your daughter still in her pajamas and sandals in 60 degree weather, a backpack with both straps broken, dirty hair, but man, that iPhone was in PRISTINE condition. And the child’s mother spent all of her time messing around with the phone, and never once acknowledged her daughter. This is not the first time I have seen this happen. I think we have a problem when a cell phone becomes more important than a human being.

Another thing that infuriates me, is when a car accident happens, or someone is being attacked, and the first thing people do is get out their “smart” phone and they start taking pictures and recording video. A perfect example of this is the case of Eric Garner, who was choked to death by a police officer and a civilian stood there and recorded it with his phone. While having video evidence of Garner’s murder is helpful after the fact, what would have been more helpful is if the man with the cell phone, and all the people standing around actually stood up for Eric Garner and tried to stop the officer from killing him in the first place. And don’t tell me it’s impossible for a group of people to stop a bunch of cops from ganging up on someone. In this video, several soccer players and fans come to the aid of a protester who was being beaten with a baton by one of the officers.

It amazes me how protective people are of their smart phones. They will spend over 30 dollars on a cell phone case, disregard what their children say to them in favor of what the phone is doing, and they need to periodically check the phone for the littlest update. Is that text, which probably says nothing more than “hey wassup?” really that important?

Texting within itself, no matter what kind of phone you have, has got to be the most irritating thing ever invented. Truthfully, I do text my mother from time to time, if we are meeting up somewhere or if she needs me to pick up something from the store. But that makes logical sense. However, texting during one of my classes does not make sense. “hey wassup?” does not have the same value as learning to speak Japanese. I remember my first semester at my college, a freshman asked the teacher for permission to leave the room to answer his cell phone. The teacher told him that if he left class, he shouldn’t come back. There were numerous people on a waiting list, trying to get into the class in case someone drops it, and here’s this goofball taking his education for granted because he values his cell phone more.

If I was a college professor, I would make all of the students turn off their cell phone and put it on the table/desk in the front of the room. I would also take attendance as people did this, and they could get it back after class. And if this bothers you, don’t come to class, because you will not disrupt the education of everyone else.

I’m not going to make this rant any longer than it needs to be, so I will say this: Turn off your damn smart phone, put it in your pocket and take a look at the folks around you. Enjoy the sights, sounds, and smells of the world.

There are no comments on this post.

Share Your Thoughts

