Crobat is Painfully Underrated (And Other Pokemon Strategies)

It is rare for me to talk about video games on this blog, especially about Pokemon. I don’t consider myself the best Pokemon game strategist in the world, because there are several things about the games I’ve never understood or been interested in. One of those things that I couldn’t care less about, are held items and a Pokemon’s nature. (Nature is the general attitude/personality that a Pokemon has). I’ve spent a long time perfecting strategies that abandon held items and natures altogether, and just rely on the Pokemon’s statistics.

So Crobat has been a favorite of mine since the Gold and Silver games came out. The second generation of Pokemon have just always been my favorites. The first game I played straight through was actually Pokemon Pearl, where I caught my first Crobat. The attack, defense, special attack and special defense stats range from 80 to 95. That’s moderately good, but not great. Many folks tend to rely on Pokemon that have higher stats and can do more attack damage to an opponent. I have some of those Pokemon, because there are times when they are necessary. But while playing Pearl, I ran into a problem with the Elite Four – they kept using items to heal their Pokemon, and then they’d hit my Pokemon so hard that I’d lose very quickly. I realized that I needed to give them no time to hit me, and no time to use items. This is where Crobat came in.

Crobat’s speed stat is 130. To date, there are only 13 other Pokemon that are faster than Crobat. When Pearl first came out, I believe there were less than that.

Crobat’s talent isn’t just its speed, but that it’s a Poison type and a Flying type. Duel types have double the advantages, and double the weaknesses. That being said, I needed to also make the strategy protect Crobat from the damage inflicted by its weaknesses, while also using its strengths.

I have a soft spot for non-attacking moves. Crobat can learn both Confuse Ray and Toxic. Confuse Ray as the name suggests causes the opponent to become confused. Confused Pokemon direct their attacks at themselves, instead of Crobat. Because of its speed, Crobat can attack first most of the time, and the chances of Confuse Ray missing are very low. Toxic will poison the opponent instantly. Poison causes more damage to the opponent every turn. Combine the damage of confusion and poison, and your enemy is in bad shape. This also makes it very difficult for the opponent to attack you, and also means that the opponent’s trainer must use an Antidote in order to stop the poison, thus wasting a turn.

After I have Crobat use Confuse Ray and Toxic, I then have it use Fly. Fly is an attack that requires two turns to execute, but it is worth it. There’s already damage being done to the opponent, so a turn of Crobat just hiding in the clouds for a whole turn isn’t a waste of a turn. After this Crobat attacks, and because it is a flying type, it has STAB, so Fly does a good bit of damage to the opponent. Fly also prevents most attacks from hitting Crobat while using it.

So what is the fourth move that I’ve added to this? Roost. It’s a health recovery, but it means that if one of the select few Fighting type moves has actually hit Crobat, that on the next turn, Crobat can heal from it. Keep in mind that Confuse Ray and Toxic are still working at this point, so Crobat is not wasting a turn. I’ve found that most opponents faint in less than 6 turns.

I do these sorts of strategies with a lot of the Pokemon I use, not just Crobat. My Golduck that I use in Pearl, has an anti-everything attack/defend strategy. I gave it Focus Blast, Surf, Screech, and Dig. This strategy works best against Steel types, Dark types, and Electric types. I call it anti-everything because Screech lowers defense sharply, so after using it a couple of times, it weakens everything to just about everything. Focus Blast has a Fighting type advantage, Surf and Dig have advantages against Fire types, and Electric types. I also use Dig like Fly to avoid attacks, and Focus Blast against Grass types. Golduck’s well-rounded and higher stats also fill in any gaps. My Golduck also defeated Giratina in about 5 hits.

That being said, I actually run a slightly noobish moveset with my Torterra. I don’t care what anyone says, I firmly believe Torterra is the best starter from generation four. So I gave it Sunny Day, Solarbeam, Wood Hammer, and Synthesis. Yep, I’m using health recovery again. But Synthesis also helps counter the recoil from using Wood Hammer. Wood Hammer is my last resort, finishing move if Solarbeam is taking too long. I think my Torterra’s success lies in it’s extremely good defense stat, and attack stat. It’s slow, so rather than try to make it faster, I just took advantage of its defensive capabilities.

My other Pokemon from Pearl use strategies that are intended for specific types only, and for double team battles. If you have any questions for me about what strategies might be best for your Pokemon go ahead and ask, and I’ll do my best to recommend a good strategy.

There are no comments on this post.

Share Your Thoughts

